Log in

No account? Create an account
Something about dance
Flow of music 
21st-Sep-2011 09:51 am

Natya Sastra stipulates that a varna shoud have four constituents: arohi (ascending order of swaras), avarohi (descending order of swaras), sthayi (resting or elongation of swara) and sanchari (movements of swara, i.e. embellishments or gamakas, when one note is made multidimensional, like moving round, alive).

"arohi cha avarohi cha sthayi sancharinou tatha"

Flow of raga, patterns of melody, inspire people to dance. Choreography of Jathiswaram, for example, feflects each and every lakshana of the raga – arohi and avarohi are shown through continuous flow of adavus, by using different jathi to portray the shape of each swara sequence, by using different kalai to show dynamics - how intensity of voice, power of each swara is increasing up and decreasing down...

Sthayi are shown in postures or ascents, which can be put in beginning of some sequence, in between - as ascents, or in the end, as final “crown” of adavu sequence.

Sanchari are shown through tiny embellishments like attomi, small hand movements, very subtle and delicate decorations, they help us to appreciate music, give special pleasure when the soul just flies up elevated by innocent joy of seeing something nice and beautiful.

Choreography cannot be mechanical reflection of thalam. Thalam is skeleton, backbone of dance. Music is the soul of dance. It put prana in and makes mathematically precise structure of thalam patterns move, move in according to the flow of music - i.e. to dance...

This page was loaded May 22nd 2018, 2:11 am GMT.